Michael R. Losey Excellence in Human Resource Research Award


This award honors lifetime achievement in human resource research. It recognizes an individual for significant past and ongoing research contributions that impact the HR management field.

A single award of $50,000 is presented annually to further the field of human resource management. Nominations are encouraged for scholars with a significant body of work in the field of HR. 

Who is Eligible

This prestigious award recognizes significant contributions to the HR field through empirical research and its application to practice. To be eligible, a nominee must possess a broad and deep track record of contributions to the HR discipline through research, as well as interactions with the practitioner community. Examples include: speaking and consulting engagements, authoring books, book chapters or journal articles that have affected how HR is practiced.

The winning nominee will also have an extensive body of published research in top-tier, peer-reviewed journals such as:

  • Human Resource Management (HRMJ)
  • Journal of Management (JOM)
  • Journal of Applied Psychology (JAP)
  • Academy of Management Journal (AMJ)
  • Personnel Psychology (PP)

How to Make a Nomination

For more information about the Losey award, please visit SHRMfoundation.org/scholarships

Nominations open in January through March annually. 

Questions? Contact us: SHRMscholarships@shrm.org

The SHRM Foundation does not discriminate against individuals on the basis of race, color, gender, sexual orientation, marital status, religion, disability, age, veteran status, ancestry, national origin or citizenship in the administration of its grant and scholarship programs.

Employees, members of SHRM volunteer panels, national board members of SHRM, HR Institute or the SHRM Foundation and members of their immediate family are not eligible to apply for SHRM Foundation grants, awards or scholarships. 

Past Michael R. Losey Award Winners

Click on each name to learn more.

2021 - Ann Marie Ryan, Ph.D.

2020 - David Ulrich, Ph.D.

2019 - Denise Rousseau, Ph.D.

2018 - Barry Gerhart, Ph.D.

2017 - Herman Aguinis, Ph.D.

2016 - Paul Sparrow, Ph.D.

2015 - Susan E. Jackson, Ph.D.

2014 - Patrick Wright, Ph.D.

2013 - John Boudreau, Ph.D.

2012 - Eduardo Salas, Ph.D.

2011 - Sara Rynes Ph.D.

2010 - Wayne F. Cascio, Ph.D. 

2009 - Benjamin Schneider, Ph.D.

2008 - Herbert G. Heneman III, Ph.D.

2007 - Michael Beer, Ph.D.

2006 - Gary Latham, Ph.D.

2005 - Frank Schmidt, Ph.D.

2004 - Lee Dyer, Ph.D.

2003* - No award presented.

2002 - Edward E. Lawler, III, Ph.D.

* The Michael R. Losey Human Resource Research Award was suspended in 2003. Consequently, no winner was chosen.



Hire the best HR talent or advance your own career.

Member Benefit: Ask-An-Advisor Service

SHRM's HR Knowledge Advisors offer guidance and resources to assist members with their HR inquiries.

SHRM's HR Knowledge Advisors offer guidance and resources to assist members with their HR inquiries.



HR Daily Newsletter

News, trends and analysis, as well as breaking news alerts, to help HR professionals do their jobs better each business day.