SHRM Foundation Board Elects 3 New Members

By SHRM Online staff Nov 23, 2015

Jim Link, Melissa Dawn Simkins and Ian Ziskin have been elected to the SHRM Foundation’s board of directors, where they will serve three-year terms beginning Jan. 1, 2016.

The Foundation announced its 2016 board of directors on Nov. 21, 2015, the closing day of the SHRM Volunteer Leaders’ Summit in Washington, D.C.

Link is chief human resources officer at Randstad North America in Atlanta. His 25-year career in human resources has included multiple assignments at General Electric and The Pillsbury Co. He has been a member of the senior management team of Porsche Cars North America as general manager of human resources. He serves on the board of SHRM Atlanta.

Simkins is president of Velvet Suite, a brand-development firm in Atlanta. She has been featured on CNN, CNBC and other national media outlets discussing brands in crisis. She is an online contributor to Inc. magazine and the author of Brand Me: Make Your Mark (Xlibris, 2015).

Ziskin is president of human capital coaching and consulting firm EXec EXcel Group LLC in the Greater New York City area. He is an executive in residence with the Center for Effective Organizations at the University of Southern California’s Marshall School of Business in Los Angeles and an executive advisor to Executive Networks Inc. in San Francisco. He is the author of WillBe: 13 Reasons WillBe’s Are Luckier than WannaBe’s (EXec EXcel Group, 2011) and Three: The Human Resources Emerging Executive (Jossey-Bass, 2015).

Other Board News

Elizabeth “Betsy” Larson, SHRM-SCP, CCP, vice president of compensation at MassMutual in Hartford, Conn., was elected chair designate for 2016. She will serve as chair of the board in 2017 and 2018. Additionally, four members were re-elected to the board. They are:

  • Edward Lawler III, Ph.D., distinguished professor of business and director of the Center for Effective Organizations at the University of Southern California’s Marshall School of Business. He will serve a two-year term.
  • Sara Rynes, Ph.D., John F. Murray professor of management and organizations at the Tippie College of Business at the University of Iowa. She will serve a three-year term.
  • Elizabeth P. “Libby” Sartain, principal of Libby Sartain LLC in Bastrop, Texas. She will serve a three-year term.
  • Tina Sung, CAE, vice president of government transformation and agency partnership at the Partnership for Public Service in Washington, D.C. She will serve a three-year term.

Also serving on the board in 2016 will be:

  • Tom Darrow, SHRM-SCP, who serves as chair. He is founder and principal of Talent Connections LLC and Career Spa LLC, in the Greater Atlanta area.
  • Karen B. Paul, Ph.D., leader of the Global Measurement Center of Expertise at 3M in the Minneapolis-St. Paul area.
  • Jeff T. H. Pon, SHRM-SCP, Ph.D., chief human resource and strategy officer at SHRM in Alexandria, Va.
  • Ann Marie Ryan, Ph.D., professor of organizational psychology at Michigan State University in East Lansing, Mich.

Board members are elected by the SHRM Foundation and the SHRM boards of directors.


Job Finder

Find an HR Job Near You
Post a Job


Find the Right Vendor for Your HR Needs

SHRM’s HR Vendor Directory contains over 10,000 companies

Search & Connect