SHRM Certification Commission

The SHRM Certification Commission serves as a technical advisory committee for the certifying activities of SHRM.
The Commission is responsible for ensuring the quality and impartiality of the SHRM certification program, which is
designed to meet the highest standards in the industry.

The Commission oversees all technical aspects of the SHRM certification program, including the overall development
of the exam, eligibility requirements and issuance of recertification. Its responsibilities include review and approval of
such aspects as certificant eligibility, exam specifications and scoring, recertification criteria, maintaining the integrity
of the certification process, and consideration of appeals and complaints.

The Commission comprises volunteers who have extensive HR, testing, and business experience from industries and
organizations around the world.

Commission members do not receive financial compensation for their service on the Commission. Commission
members are reimbursed for their fair and reasonable expenses that are directly related to Commission business.

To initiate an appeal or file a complaint against a certificant, a request must be made in writing and e-mailed to An appeal will be reviewed and a response will be provided within 30 days.

If a complaint against a certificant has enough justification to merit further escalation, SHRM will follow the bylaws as
it relates to the membership disciplinary procedures and SHRM Certification Sanctions. A response will be provided
within 90 days of the request.

Wayne Cascio, Ph.D.
Professor and Robert H. Reynolds Chair in Global Leadership, University of Colorado-Denver School of Business
View Bio

Other Commission members are:

Aisha K. Al-Suwaidi
CEO, HR Policies Sector, Federal Authority for Government HR
View Bio

John Boudreau, Ph.D.
Professor and Research Director, Center for Effective Organizations, University of Southern California-Marshall School of Business
View Bio

Alfredo Escudero, SHRM-SCP
Human Resources Services Manager, Capital Consult
View Bio

Gerlinde Herrmann, SHRM-SCP
Founder and President, The Herrmann Group
View Bio

Jeff Lindeman, SHRM-SCP
Director, Finance, HR and IT for EIMEA, WD-40 Company Ltd.
View Bio
Betty Lonis, SHRM-SCP
Senior Human Resources Leader, NextGear Capital
View Bio

Nigel Phang
Associate Professor, Nanyang Business School, Division of Strategy, Management and Organization
View Bio

Susan Podlogar
Executive Vice President & Chief Human Resources Officer, MetLife, Inc.
View Bio
Paul Sackett, Ph.D.
Beverly and Richard Fink Distinguished Professor of Psychology and Liberal Arts, University of Minnesota
View Bio

Sheldon Zedeck, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus of Psychology, University of California-Berkeley
View Bio