Previous Advisor of the Year Award Recipients


Each year, the SHRM Foundation sponsors this award to recognize the outstanding service and leadership provided to student chapters by an SHRM student chapter advisor. The winning advisor receives a commemorative plaque, a $1000 cash award, and up to $1,000 in funding to attend SHRM's Annual Conference. The award is presented at the Society's Annual Conference.

Congratulations to all previous winners of this prestigious award:

2017 Professor David A. Ferio: Rutgers University
2016 Dr. Michelle Dean, Ph.D.: San Diego State University
2015 Dr. Angela K. Miles, Ph.D., SHRM-SCP, SPHR: North Carolina A&T University
2014 Dr. Debbie L. Mackey, Ph.D., PHR: University of Tennessee- Knoxville
2013 Kristy M. Dixon, SPHR: Meredith College
2012 Dr. Donna Ledgerwood, SPHR: University of North Texas
2011 Dr. Jeff L. Walls, Ed.D, SPHR: Indiana Tech
2010 Prof. Marta Col​on, SPHR: University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez
2009 Dr. Beth A. Berret, SPHR: Alvernia University
2008 Dr. James Nimnicht: Central Washington University
2007 Dr. Edward Hernandez, SPHR: California State University, Stanislaus
2006 Dr. Matthew Stollak, SPHR: St. Norbert College
2005 Dr. Fraya Wagner-Marsh, SPHR: Eastern Michigan University
2004 Carolyn K. Fisher: Pennsylvania State University
2003 Dr. K. Shannon Davis, SPHR: North Carolina State University
2002 Dr. James Nimnicht: Central Washington University
2001 Dr. Alan Cabelly, SPHR: Portland State University
2000 Dr. Terry Bishop, SPHR: Northern Illinois University
1999 Dr. Dale Scharinger, SPHR: University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
1998 Dr. Tom Stone, SPHR; Oklahoma State University
1997 Dr. Bruce Wonder: Western Washington University


Job Finder

Find an HR Job Near You
Post a Job


Find the Right Vendor for Your HR Needs

SHRM’s HR Vendor Directory contains over 10,000 companies

Search & Connect