Recertification Q&A: Categories and Credit Amounts

Answers to frequently asked questions about SHRM certification and recertification

By the SHRM Certification Team February 18, 2021
Recertification Q&A: Categories and Credit Amounts

Have questions about the SHRM-CP or SHRM-SCP credentials? In every issue, the SHRM Certification team will answer some of your most frequently asked questions. Have additional questions? Send them to


Q: Regarding the three recertification categories (Advance Your Education, Advance Your Organization and Advance Your Profession), is there a distribution requirement specifying a certain number of professional development credits (PDCs) to be earned in each? Are there minimum or maximum PDC amounts required or allowed per category?

A: If you choose to recertify your SHRM-CP or SHRM-SCP credential by earning PDCs, you are required to earn 60 PDCs per three-year recertification cycle.

You can earn all 60 PDCs in the Advance Your Education category (no PDC maximum), or you can earn the 60 PDCs across categories. Just keep these limits in mind: You can earn a maximum of 20 PDCs in the Advance Your Organization category and a maximum of 30 PDCs in the Advance Your Profession category.

There is no distribution requirement; in other words, you do not need to earn PDCs in each category, and there are no minimum PDC requirements in any category.

These parameters are designed to increase your accessibility to earning credits, decrease barriers to participation (due to budget, location or scheduling difficulties), and move you toward the goal of successfully completing the recertification process.

Want to learn more about how to obtain or maintain your SHRM certification? Visit



Hire the best HR talent or advance your own career.


HR Daily Newsletter

News, trends and analysis, as well as breaking news alerts, to help HR professionals do their jobs better each business day.