600 Industry Sectors Exempt from OSHA Inspections in 2015

By Roy Maurer Mar 6, 2015

About 600 industry groups are exempt from programmed safety inspections in 2015 if they meet certain criteria, according to a Jan. 30, 2015, directive from the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA).

The agency is restricted from conducting planned safety inspections on employers with 10 or fewer workers in industries with injury and illness rates lower than the national private-sector average.

The directive does not limit OSHA’s ability to conduct planned health inspections or safety inspections in response to complaints, accidents or injury reports.

To qualify for the 2015 exemption, in addition to employing 10 or fewer workers, employers needed to be classified in industries with a days away, restricted or transfer (DART) rate less than the national private-sector rate of 1.7 injuries or illnesses for every 100 workers during 2013. Employers are identified by a North American Industry Classification System six-digit code, and can find their industry DART rate here.

Roy Maurer is an online editor/manager for SHRM.

Follow him @SHRMRoy

Quick Links:

SHRM Online Safety & Security page

Subscribe to SHRM’s Safety & Security HR e-newsletter

Job Finder

Find an HR Job Near You
Post a Job


Choose from dozens of free webcasts on the most timely HR topics.

Register Today


Find the Right Vendor for Your HR Needs

SHRM’s HR Vendor Directory contains over 10,000 companies

Search & Connect