California Anti-Harassment Training Deadline Still Set for January

By Susan E. Groff and Joelle A. Mervin © Jackson Lewis September 9, 2020
LIKE SAVE
woman taking online training on laptop

In 2018, California law extended anti-harassment training requirements to employers with five employees or more and mandated that non-supervisors also receive such training, in addition to supervisors.

The original deadline for completion of that training was Jan. 1, 2020. Current California law requires employers with five or more employees to provide one hour of sexual-harassment-prevention training to nonsupervisory employees and two hours of sexual-harassment-prevention training to supervisors and managers. This interactive training must occur every two years and must include prevention of abusive conduct as a component, among several other topics required to be covered.

In 2019, California Gov. Gavin Newsom signed legislation extending the deadline under California Government Code section 12950.1 for initial compliance to Jan. 1, 2021. The amendment to the California Government Code also clarified that an employer that provided sexual-harassment-prevention training in 2019 is compliant with the training requirements and is not required to provide training again for two years.

Many employers delayed training in early 2020, due to COVID-19 stay-at-home orders and hoped by summer they could reschedule. As in-person training continues to be difficult under state and county guidance, many employers thought the governor might further extend the deadline.

However, much like the state minimum wage increase set for Jan. 1, 2020, neither the California Legislature nor the governor have made any moves to extend the deadline for compliance despite the ongoing pandemic. The Jan. 1, 2021 compliance deadline to provide sexual harassment training remains.

While providing employees in-person training may not be feasible, the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing allows for training to occur live in a classroom, online, or in "any other effective, interactive format." Training may be completed by employees individually or as part of a group presentation and may be completed in segments as long as the total hourly requirement is met.

Regardless of how training is completed, employers should remember to retain records of all employees' training for a minimum of two years.

Susan E. Groff and Joelle A. Mervin are attorneys with Jackson Lewis in Los Angeles. © 2020 Jackson Lewis. All rights reserved. Reposted with permission. 

LIKE SAVE

Job Finder

Find an HR Job Near You
Search Jobs

Reminder: California Voting Leave Poster

At least 10 days before an election, California employers must post the Time Off to Vote notice.

At least 10 days before an election, California employers must post the Time Off to Vote notice.

LEARN MORE

SPONSOR OFFERS

HR Daily Newsletter

News, trends and analysis, as well as breaking news alerts, to help HR professionals do their jobs better each business day.