Finally get that promotion? Get exclusive content, tips and tools to help you excel.
Shawn Premer shows how doing the right thing for employees leads to positive business results.
Is your employee handbook keeping up with the changing world of work? With SHRM's Employee Handbook Builder get peace of mind that your handbook is up-to-date.
Build competencies, establish credibility and advance your career—while earning PDCs—at SHRM Seminars in 12 cities across the U.S. this spring.
#SHRM18 will expand your perspective – on your organization, on your career, and on the way you approach HR. Join us in Chicago June 17-20, 2018
Members may download one copy of our sample forms and templates for your personal use within your organization. Please note that all such forms and policies should be reviewed by your legal counsel for compliance with applicable law, and should be modified to suit your organization’s culture, industry, and practices. Neither members nor non-members may reproduce such samples in any other way (e.g., to republish in a book or use for a commercial purpose) without SHRM’s permission. To request permission for specific items, click on the “reuse permissions” button on the page where you find the item.
On Jan. 1, 2015, Florida’s minimum wage increased by 12 cents from $7.93 to $8.05, with a minimum wage of at least $5.03 per hour for tipped employees.
The minimum wage increase is the result of a state constitutional amendment approved by voters in 2004 that provides for annual rate adjustments to keep pace with the cost of living.State law requires a new minimum wage calculation each year on Sept. 30, based on the percentage increase in the Consumer Price Index for the 12-month period prior to Sept. 1. If the calculated rate is higher than the federal minimum wage, the state’s rate takes effect the following January.
Florida’s new minimum wage for tipped employees – $5.03 per hour, plus tips – also went into effect Jan 1. This rate is calculated as equal to the tip credit – $3.02 – subtracted from the minimum wage of $8.05. Under the Fair Labor Standards Act, employers of “tipped employees” may count tips actually received as wages toward satisfaction of the state minimum wage, but the employer must pay tipped employees a direct wage.
The minimum wage applies to all employees in the state who are covered by the federal minimum wage.
Increased consumer spending expected as a result of the wage increase will boost economic growth by $38.7 million, an analysis of census data by the nonpartisan Economic Policy Institute predicts.
You have successfully saved this page as a bookmark.
Please confirm that you want to proceed with deleting bookmark.
You have successfully removed bookmark.
Please log in as a SHRM member before saving bookmarks.
Please sign in as a SHRM member before saving bookmarks.
Please purchase a SHRM membership before saving bookmarks.
An error has occurred
Recommended for you
Choose from dozens of free webcasts on the most timely HR topics.
SHRM’s HR Vendor Directory contains over 3,200 companies