This Month Only! >> $20 off and a FREE SHRM tote with your membership and code TOTE2018!
Sign up for free email newsletters and get more SHRM content delivered to your inbox.
Is your employee handbook keeping up with the changing world of work? With SHRM's Employee Handbook Builder get peace of mind that your handbook is up-to-date.
Build competencies, establish credibility and advance your career—while earning PDCs—at SHRM Seminars in 12 cities across the U.S. this spring.
#SHRM18 will expand your perspective – on your organization, on your career, and on the way you approach HR. Join us in Chicago June 17-20, 2018
Members may download one copy of our sample forms and templates for your personal use within your organization. Please note that all such forms and policies should be reviewed by your legal counsel for compliance with applicable law, and should be modified to suit your organization’s culture, industry, and practices. Neither members nor non-members may reproduce such samples in any other way (e.g., to republish in a book or use for a commercial purpose) without SHRM’s permission. To request permission for specific items, click on the “reuse permissions” button on the page where you find the item.
Georgia has become one of 16 states in the country that bans the use of hand-held devices while driving. Governor Nathan Deal signed "Hands-Free Georgia Act" (House Bill 673) into law on May 2. The new law takes effect on July 1.
The act makes it illegal for drivers to "physically hold or support, with any part of his or her body," a wireless telecommunications device. It will be illegal for drivers to make and receive telephone calls, send and receive text messages or emails, post on social media, or browse the internet with a hand-held device while driving (including while stopped at a traffic light). Drivers must use an earpiece or wireless device, including a smartphone watch, for making calls, sending or receiving texts, or for navigational purposes.
Drivers will be allowed to hold a phone only while driving in limited circumstances, including to make calls to report a traffic accident, criminal activity, medical emergency or hazardous condition.
Beginning on the act's effective date, law enforcement officers will issue citations to drivers observed using hand-held devices. Penalties for violating the statute can include fines of up to $150.
In enacting the statute, the Georgia legislature aims to reduce the number of motor vehicle accidents and fatalities caused by distracted driving.
What Does It Mean for Employers?
Employers who do not have a specific policy or provision prohibiting the use of hand-held devices while driving in their employee handbook should consider including one. The policy should make it clear that it is illegal under Georgia law. This is especially important for employers in the trucking, transportation, delivery, roadside assistance or any similar industries in which their employees frequently drive for work.
Until the new law goes into effect, only texting while driving has been prohibited in Georgia. Thus, even if employers already have policies addressing the use of cell phones while driving, those policies may not fully address the scope of the prohibited activity under the statute or the limited exceptions. All employers are encouraged to review their current cell phone or safety policies and consider revising them as necessary to comply with the new law.
Todd Van Dyke and Mary Claire Smith are attorneys with Jackson Lewis in Atlanta. © Jackson Lewis. All rights reserved. Reposted with permission.
You have successfully saved this page as a bookmark.
Please confirm that you want to proceed with deleting bookmark.
You have successfully removed bookmark.
Please log in as a SHRM member before saving bookmarks.
Please sign in as a SHRM member before saving bookmarks.
Please purchase a SHRM membership before saving bookmarks.
An error has occurred
Recommended for you
SHRM Member Discounts Program
SHRM’s HR Vendor Directory contains over 10,000 companies