Increased State Minimum Wage Impacts Daily Overtime Rate in Nevada

By Dana B. Salmonson © Ogletree Deakins July 7, 2022
LIKE SAVE
las vegas at night

​Many employers with business operations in Nevada are aware by now that Assembly Bill 456, enacted in June 2019, increases the minimum wage in increments of 75 cents annually on July 1 of each year through 2024.

Thus, beginning on July 1, the Nevada minimum wage rate increased to $10.50 per hour for employees who are not offered qualified health benefits under the state's two-tiered minimum wage system.

The minimum wage rate increased to $9.50 per hour for employees who are offered qualified health benefits.

Nevada employers may want to note that an increase in the minimum wage rate brings an automatic increase in the daily overtime rate, as well.

Given the current minimum wage rate of $10.50 per hour, Nevada employers that pay their employees less than $15.75 per hour (or $14.25 per hour for employers that offer qualified health benefits) must pay employees daily overtime for time worked over eight hours in a workday or 40 hours in a week. Nevada Revised Statutes section 608.0126 defines workday as "a period of 24 consecutive hours, which begins when the employee begins work." This is different from the typical 24-hour period in a calendar day.

Employees earning more than 1.5 times the applicable minimum wage are not required to be paid daily overtime, but they are entitled to overtime pay for hours worked over 40 in a week. The only exception is if "by mutual agreement the employee works a scheduled 10 hours per day for four calendar days within any scheduled week of work." However, any deviations from the 4-10 rule could cause overtime to accrue.

This is the first time that employers in Nevada that pay employees a wage of $15.00 per hour will be subject to daily overtime.

Due to these minimum wage increases, Nevada employers may want to assess whether their employees will now qualify for daily overtime compensation, how this daily overtime compensation will impact their businesses, whether it makes financial sense to increase hourly rates to avoid daily overtime payments, and whether they have the proper procedures in place to track hours worked

Two-Tiered Minimum Wage System

Under Nevada's two-tiered minimum wage system, employers must pay their employees the higher minimum wage rate unless they provide qualified health benefits to their employees (both part-time and full-time). In particular, in order for an employer to qualify to pay the lower minimum wage rate, that employer must do three things:

  1. Offer a health insurance plan that covers those categories of health care expenses that are generally deductible by an employee on his individual federal income tax return. The health insurance plan must be made available to the employee and any dependents of the employee.
  2. Provide a health insurance plan in which the share of the cost of the premium for the health insurance plan paid by the employee does not exceed 10 percent of the employee's gross taxable income attributable to the employer under the Internal Revenue Code. Voluntary tips are not included in the 10 percent calculation.
  3. Contribute $1 per hour worked toward the employee's health insurance coverage, which the employee enrolled in or could have enrolled in.

Dana B. Salmonson is a lawyer with Ogletree Deakins in Las Vegas. © 2022. All rights reserved. Reprinted with permission. 

LIKE SAVE

SHRM HR JOBS

Hire the best HR talent or advance your own career.

SHRM’s SMALL-BUSINESS LEGAL RESOURCE

SHRM LegalNetwork members can quickly connect with attorneys on an unlimited number of topics for a low monthly fee.

SHRM LegalNetwork members can quickly connect with attorneys on an unlimited number of topics for a low monthly fee.

LEARN MORE

SPONSOR OFFERS

HR Daily Newsletter

News, trends and analysis, as well as breaking news alerts, to help HR professionals do their jobs better each business day.