Get access to the exclusive HR Resources you need to succeed in 2018.
Sign up for free email newsletters and get more SHRM content delivered to your inbox.
Is your employee handbook keeping up with the changing world of work? With SHRM's Employee Handbook Builder get peace of mind that your handbook is up-to-date.
Build competencies, establish credibility and advance your career—while earning PDCs—at SHRM Seminars in 14 cities across the U.S. this fall.
Gain the skills you need to rise to the next level in your career. Jon us at SHRM's Leadership Development Forum, October 2-3 in Boston.
Members may download one copy of our sample forms and templates for your personal use within your organization. Please note that all such forms and policies should be reviewed by your legal counsel for compliance with applicable law, and should be modified to suit your organization’s culture, industry, and practices. Neither members nor non-members may reproduce such samples in any other way (e.g., to republish in a book or use for a commercial purpose) without SHRM’s permission. To request permission for specific items, click on the “reuse permissions” button on the page where you find the item.
Ohio’s minimum wage for non-tipped employees increased to $8.10 per hour on Jan. 1, 2015, a 15-cent increase from the former rate of $7.95 per hour. A non-tipped employee is any employee who does not engage in an occupation in which he or she customarily and regularly receives more than $30 per month in tips.
For tipped employees, the minimum wage increases to $4.05 per hour, a six-cent increase. Tipped employees include any employee who customarily and regularly receives more than $30 per month in tips. Employers electing to use the tip credit provision must be able to show that tipped employees receive at least the minimum wage when direct or cash wages and the tip credit amount are combined.
Certain employees are exempt from the state’s minimum wage requirements, including:
Any individual employed by the United States.
Any individual who volunteers to perform services for a state, political subdivision of a state, or interstate governmental agency if certain conditions apply.
An individual who volunteers their services solely for humanitarian purposes to private nonprofit food banks.
Employees with mental or physical disabilities that may adversely affect the employees’ opportunities for employment.
Employees of a solely family owned and operated business who are family members of the owner.
Individuals employed in or about the property of the employer or person’s residence on a casual basis.
In addition, the minimum wage for employees under the age of 16 cannot be less than the current federal minimum wage rate, which is $7.25 per hour.
Ohio voters passed a constitutional amendment in November 2006 that requires Ohio’s minimum wage to increase on Jan. 1 of each year by the rate of inflation. The state minimum wage is tied to the Consumer Price Index (CPI) for urban wage earners and clerical workers for the 12-month period prior to September. The CPI index rose 1.6 percent over the twelve-month period from Sept. 1, 2013 to Aug. 31, 2014. The wage rate for non-tipped employees will be rounded to the nearest five cents.
You have successfully saved this page as a bookmark.
Please confirm that you want to proceed with deleting bookmark.
You have successfully removed bookmark.
Please log in as a SHRM member before saving bookmarks.
Please sign in as a SHRM member before saving bookmarks.
Please purchase a SHRM membership before saving bookmarks.
An error has occurred
Recommended for you
Choose from dozens of free webcasts on the most timely HR topics.
SHRM’s HR Vendor Directory contains over 10,000 companies