We're celebrating 10 Days of Membership! Today's Gift: $20 off your professional membership with promo 10DAYS20OFF
Training, policies and tools to help HR prevent and respond to harassment claims.
Is your employee handbook keeping up with the changing world of work? With SHRM's Employee Handbook Builder get peace of mind that your handbook is up-to-date.
Develop your HR competencies and knowledge in-person in 12 U.S. cities or virtually.
#SHRM18 will expand your perspective – on your organization, on your career, and on the way you approach HR. Join us in Chicago June 17-20, 2018
In March 2016, Oregon enacted a geographically-tiered minimum wage hike. The first increase went into effect July 1, 2016.
For all employees performing work in the Portland Urban Growth Boundary, and the Urban/Suburban Region, the minimum wage increases $ .50 to $9.75 per hour. These are businesses that employ workers in Benton, Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Deschutes, Hood River, Jackson, Josephine, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Marion, Multnomah, Polk, Tillamook, Wasco, Washington, and Yamhill counties.
For employees performing work in the non-urban region, the minimum wage increases $. 25 to $9.50 per hour. These are businesses that employ workers in Malheur, Lake, Harney, Wheeler, Sherman, Gilliam, Wallowa, Grant, Jefferson, Baker, Union, Crook, Klamath, Douglas, Coos, Curry, Umatilla, and Morrow counties.
Employers with individuals who provide services in multiple geographic regions in Oregon during any given pay period should follow these rules when evaluating which minimum wage rate applies:
If an employee performs more than 50% of his/her work during a pay period at a fixed business location, the minimum wage rate for the region for that business location applies to all hours worked during the pay period.
Delivery workers who start and end their work at the same fixed business location should be paid at least the minimum wage rate for the region encompassing that business location, notwithstanding deliveries made outside that region.
For those employees who do not perform more than 50% of their work hours during a pay period at a fixed business location, the employer must either (a) track (and maintain record of) where the employee performs his/her work and pay at least the applicable wage rate for each region where the work was performed, or (b) pay the highest wage rate required for any region in which the employee worked for all hours worked during the pay period. In addition, be sure that you have posted the new minimum wage rates.
Megan J. Crowhurst is an attorney with Bullard Law in Portland, Ore. © Bullard Law. All rights reserved. Reposted with permission.
You have successfully saved this page as a bookmark.
Please confirm that you want to proceed with deleting bookmark.
You have successfully removed bookmark.
Please log in as a SHRM member before saving bookmarks.
Your session has expired. Please log in again before saving bookmarks.
Please purchase a SHRM membership before saving bookmarks.
An error has occurred
Recommended for you
Refer a Friend to SHRM
SHRM’s HR Vendor Directory contains over 3,200 companies