Finally get that promotion? Get exclusive content, tips and tools to help you excel.
Shawn Premer shows how doing the right thing for employees leads to positive business results.
Is your employee handbook keeping up with the changing world of work? With SHRM's Employee Handbook Builder get peace of mind that your handbook is up-to-date.
Build competencies, establish credibility and advance your career—while earning PDCs—at SHRM Seminars in 12 cities across the U.S. this spring.
#SHRM18 will expand your perspective – on your organization, on your career, and on the way you approach HR. Join us in Chicago June 17-20, 2018
Members may download one copy of our sample forms and templates for your personal use within your organization. Please note that all such forms and policies should be reviewed by your legal counsel for compliance with applicable law, and should be modified to suit your organization’s culture, industry, and practices. Neither members nor non-members may reproduce such samples in any other way (e.g., to republish in a book or use for a commercial purpose) without SHRM’s permission. To request permission for specific items, click on the “reuse permissions” button on the page where you find the item.
On June 22, 2015, Rhode Island Gov. Gina Raimondo signed into law another increase to the state’s minimum wage. This marks the fourth straight year that Rhode Island has raised its minimum wage. Effective Jan 1, 2016, the minimum wage will be $9.60 per hour.
The new minimum wage rate matches that in Connecticut and Vermont. Barring any action in other states, only California ($10), Massachusetts ($10), and Alaska ($9.75) will have higher rates for 2016. A small number of other states, including Washington, index their minimum wages to rise with the cost of living and thus may have similarly high rates.
There have also been efforts in the Rhode Island General Assembly to raise the minimum wage for tipped employees, which currently remains at $2.89 per hour, and some lawmakers have pledged to continue those efforts. Rhode Island has not raised its “subminimum” wage in almost 20 years, but pending bills would do just that.
Unlike some other states that have passed laws raising the minimum wage in increments over a number of years, Rhode Island has taken a piecemeal approach, passing separate wage hikes each of the past four years. An increase in the minimum wage affects other wage-and-hour provisions in Rhode Island, including the requirement that an employer’s highest biweekly payroll equal at least 200 percent of the state minimum wage in order for the employer to pay its employees on a biweekly basis. Employers that do not meet the 200 percent mark need to meet certain additional criteria to be eligible for biweekly pay. Rhode Island employers should continue to monitor changes in Rhode Island’s minimum wage laws and ensure their compliance with the new rate for 2016.
You have successfully saved this page as a bookmark.
Please confirm that you want to proceed with deleting bookmark.
You have successfully removed bookmark.
Please log in as a SHRM member before saving bookmarks.
Please sign in as a SHRM member before saving bookmarks.
Please purchase a SHRM membership before saving bookmarks.
An error has occurred
Recommended for you
HR Education in a City Near You
SHRM’s HR Vendor Directory contains over 3,200 companies