State Minimum Wage Increases Effective 2015

By Jan 14, 2015
LIKE SAVE PRINT
Reuse Permissions

Employers with multi-state operations must remain abreast of developments in state and local wage and hour legislation, such as increases in state minimum wages. Many state laws provide for annual increases based on the U.S. Consumer Price Index and inflation. The states and localities that have increased minimum wages effective Jan. 1, 2015, (except as noted) appear below. Because hospitality and similar employers also need to be aware of changes to the permissible tip credit that affect the minimum wage they must pay to customarily tipped employees, such increases also appear below. Of course, these changes to minimum wage rates also affect overtime pay calculations.

Alaska – General minimum wage increases from $7.75 to $8.75 an hour, effective Feb. 24, 2015. (Alaska law does not allow employers to take a tip credit against minimum wage for tipped employees.)

Arizona – General minimum wage increases from $7.90 to $8.05 an hour. Minimum wage for tipped employees increases from $4.90 to $5.05.

Arkansas – General minimum wage increases from $7.25 to $7.50 an hour. Minimum wage for tipped employees remains $2.63.

Colorado – General minimum wage increases from $8 to $8.23 an hour. Minimum wage for tipped employees increases from $4.98 to $5.21 an hour.

Connecticut – General minimum wage increases from $8.70 to $9.15 an hour. Minimum wage for tipped bartenders increases from $7.34 to $7.46 and minimum wage for hotel and restaurant tipped employees other than bartenders increases from $5.69 to $5.78.

Florida – General minimum wage increases from $7.93 to $8.05 an hour. Minimum wage for tipped employees increases from $4.91 to $5.03 an hour.

Hawaii – General minimum wage increases from $7.25 to $7.75 an hour. Adjusted minimum wage for tipped employees increases from $7 to $7.25 an hour, provided that when tips are added to the wages paid by the employer the total amount is no less than $14.75 per hour.

Maryland – General minimum wage increases from $7.25 to $8 an hour. Minimum wage for tipped employees remains $3.63 an hour.

Massachusetts – General minimum wage increases from $8 to $9 an hour. Minimum wage for tipped employees increases from $2.63 to $3 an hour.

Missouri – General minimum wage increases from $7.50 to $7.65 an hour. Minimum wage for tipped employees increases from $3.75 to $3.83 an hour.

Montana – General minimum wage increases from $7.90 to $8.05 an hour. (Montana law does not allow employers to take a tip credit against minimum wage for tipped employees.)

Nebraska – General minimum wage increases from $7.25 to $8 an hour. Minimum wage for tipped employees remains $2.13.

New Jersey – General minimum wage increases from $8.25 to $8.38 an hour. Minimum wage for tipped employees remains $2.13 an hour by virtue of federal law.

New York – General minimum wage increases from $8 to $8.75 an hour, effective Dec. 31, 2014. Subject to caveats outside the hospitality industry, the minimum wage for tipped employees will remain $5 an hour for food service workers (i.e., servers, runners, and bussers) and $5.65 an hour for service employees (i.e., delivery persons and coat checks).

Ohio – General minimum wage increases from $7.95 to $8.10 an hour. Minimum wage for tipped employees increases from $3.98 to $4.05 an hour.

Oregon – General minimum wage increases from $9.10 to $9.25 an hour. (Oregon law does not allow employers to take a tip credit against minimum wage for tipped employees.)

Rhode Island – General minimum wage increases from $8 to $9 an hour. Minimum wage for tipped employees remains $2.89 an hour.

South Dakota – General minimum wage increases from $7.25 to $8.50 an hour. Minimum wage for tipped employees increases from $2.13 to $4.25 an hour.

Vermont – General minimum wage increases from $8.73 to $9.15 an hour. Minimum wage for tipped employees increases from $4.23 to $4.58 an hour.

Washington – General minimum wage increases from $9.32 to $9.47 an hour. (Washington law does not allow employers to take a tip credit against minimum wage for tipped employees.)

West Virginia – General minimum wage increases from $7.25 to $8 an hour. Minimum wage for tipped employees increases from $2.13 to $2.40 an hour.

Certain localities also have implemented minimum wage legislation. For example, in San Francisco, Calif., the minimum wage increased on Jan. 1 from $10.74 to $11.05 an hour. San Jose, Calif., increased its minimum wage from $10.15 to $10.30 an hour. (Note that California law does not allow employers to take a tip credit against minimum wage for tipped employees.)

Jackson Lewis represents management exclusively in workplace law and related litigation. Republished with permission. © 2015 Jackson Lewis. All rights reserved.

LIKE SAVE PRINT
Reuse Permissions

MEMBER BENEFITS

CA Resources at Your Fingertips

View all Resources Now

Job Finder

Find an HR Job Near You

SPONSOR OFFERS

Find the Right Vendor for Your HR Needs

SHRM’s HR Vendor Directory contains over 3,200 companies

Search & Connect